The Flames of Stalbridge Manor – a ghost story

The Flames of Stalbridge Manor

An extract from The Flames of Stalbridge Manor:

‘Instinctively, I turned and there before me was the most horrific vision. For it was just that, a picture of intense suffering but one completely noiseless as if it were a silent dream. The flames leapt around the woman, ripping holes through her torso, lifting and wrapping the strands of her hair into a glowing ball of fire. I could see her lips contort as if to scream but no words came forth, only a splatter of fire upon flesh. I grappled with the beam behind me as if to force myself away but I was gripped by fear and found myself bound by the spectacle. The burning figure approached reaching out towards the beam that supported me, but without firmness she passed through it toppling into the void. I turned to see the flames extinguish in the darkness leaving no trace of the poor woman. Suppressing a shriek, I fell to my knees, peering at the open doorway, watching it shut violently upon itself.’

5 thoughts on “The Flames of Stalbridge Manor – a ghost story

  1. Pingback: Inspiring Blogger Award « Owls and Orchids

  2. The Myth is that a young girl who worked at the Manor House was dating the Son and that his mother pushed the young girl into the fire place and claimed that the girls dress had caught alight whilst she was near the fire. On her death bed the mother confessed to her son that she had pushed her and it is the mother that haunts the grounds engulfed in flames that the manor house once stood

Leave a Reply

